World Scout Moot

The World Scout Moot is a gathering of older Scouts, mainly Rover Scouts, ages 18-26 (although there was no upper age limit for the earlier Moots) from all over the world. Moots are held every four years and are organized by the World Organization of the Scout Movement (WOSM).

The original name was World Rover Moot, which was later changed to World Moot (because the term Rover was less and less used) and later to World Scout Moot.
Moot is also a generic term used for a gathering of any size for scouts of this age group.
The World Scout Jamboree is a similar event, also organized by the WOSM, for Scouts aged 14-17. The next World Scout Moot was due to be held in Mozambique in 2008, but now it will be held in Kenya in 2010.

1931 1st World Rover Moot Kandersteg, Switzerland 3,000 participants

1935 2nd World Rover Moot Ingarö, Sweden 3,000 participants

1939 3rd World Rover Moot Monzie, Scotland 3,500 participants

1949 4th World Rover Moot Skjak, Norway 2,500 participants

1953 5th World Rover Moot Kandersteg, Switzerland 3,300

1957 6th World Rover Moot Sutton Coldfield, UK 3,500 participants

1961 7th World Rover Moot Melbourne, Australia 969 participants

1965-66 Moot Year 10 Events 3,599 participants

1969-70 Moot Year 26 Events 7,250 participants

1973-74 Moot Year 22 Events 11,000 participants

1977-78 Moot Year 23 Events 14,560 participants

1981-82 Moot Year 31 Events 22,380 participants

1990-91 8th World Moot Melbourne, Australia 1,000 participants

1992 9th World Moot Kandersteg, Switzerland 1,400 participants

1996 10th World Moot Ransberg, Sweden 2,608 participants

2000 11th World Scout Moot Mexico 5,000 participants

2004 12th World Scout Moot Hualien, Taiwan 2,500 participants

2010 13th World Scout Moot Kenya

2013 14th World Scout Moot Canada

Association of Scouts of Azerbaijan 2008-2009 Privacy Policy

Hosted by uCoz